Starting Your Day Right

Hello and thank you for reading my first blog post. Because this is the start of my blog, I think it’s relevant to start with a post about starting your day off right.

Have you ever heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day? Well it is true. After fasting all night during sleep, your body is ready for fuel. If you don’t eat, the body will be forced to access stored glycogen in the muscles and liver, which is stressful for your body. Our bodies function best with a continuous source of high-quality fuel.

I often hear the excuse that a client is not hungry in the mornings as a reason for skipping breakfast. However, once you start eating in the mornings, the hunger signal will quickly start to return. Other clients tell me they skip breakfast because they want to loose weight. Studies show that people who eat breakfast burn more calories throughout the day than those who do not.

Physical and mental performance is also shown to be dependent on consuming breakfast as well. For example, The University of Iowa did a long-term study that showed a direct relationship between eating a nutritious breakfast and mental and physical performance in both children and adults.

Notice I said nutritious breakfast and not just breakfast. Pop tarts and coffee do not qualify as a nutritious breakfast. I used to eat plenty of junk food before I learned what to eat. I drank soda’s for breakfast with a bowl of fruit loops or doughnut holes and chocolate milk. Needless to say, I was not following any plan for putting nutritious foods into my body.

However, after many nutrition lectures and numerous books, I decided something had to change. I started consuming a daily smoothie for breakfast.

Smoothie Recipe
8 ounces plant milk (rice, almond or organic soy)
1 scoop Juice Plus Complete
1 tablespoon brewer’s yeast
1 tablespoon golden organic flax seeds (ground)
1/3 cup raw green tea leaves (food-grade)
1 banana
1 1/2 cups frozen fruit
4 to 6 ounces of water
crushed ice

This shake is a very filling and densely nutritious breakfast. It is approximately 450 calories and around 14 grams of fiber. It will help you stay full for 3 to 4 hours along with giving you energy to start your day.

Juice Plus Complete is the main component of this breakfast smoothie. It is a meal replacement drink mix that is recommended for use for breakfast. Although it can be used as a snack or for pre or post workout recovery, it is not really meant to replace more than one meal per day because I recommend that a variety of foods be consumed each day.

Juice Plus Complete contains no negative ingredients such as dairy, refined sweeteners, artificial sweeteners, eggs, preservatives or coloring agents. It is made from whole foods.

A very important benefit of Complete is that is contains foods that should be consumed daily but that most people do not eat such as:

– Sea Vegetables – One of the best natural sources of trace minerals, especially iodine
– Jerusalem Artichokes
– Contain fructooligosaccharides, which help to repopulate and maintain the flora and fauna in the intestinal tract (the good bacteria)
– Wheat grass
– Excellent source of chlorophyll, densely nutritious
– Soy Protein and Tofu Powder
– One serving of Complete constitutes a serving of soy. The soy in Complete is non-genetically modified (organic).

The benefit of using Juice Plus Complete only comes from regular use and this is why I recommend it every day for breakfast.

Although Juice Plus Complete is the main component of this breakfast smoothie, the other components of the smoothie are equally as important. Stay tuned as I will explain the benefits of each of the breakfast smoothie ingredients as it relates to your health in further postings.

3 responses to “Starting Your Day Right

  1. Love the smoothie recipe. I am just starting up my running program again and I always need new energy ideas for breakfast! Great first post 🙂

  2. This sounds great! Could I feed this to my kids or would they be missing out on stuff? I would love to get them all this goodness on their way to school in the morning!
    :)Jamie

    • Hi Jamie,
      Yes you could feed it to them. I am assuming they are over the age of 1 or 2? Tell me how old they are and I can show you how to adjust the amounts you would give them for their ages.

Leave a Reply

